President's Blog - JULY 2019

Dear SBSM Members,

The Bootzin Awards and Recognition Reception in San Antonio was a very successful and fun filled event.   The beautiful Marriott ballroom was filled with members who had an opportunity to socialize while enjoying delicious food.    The record number of attendees were treated to a data blitz and participated in a game of jeopardy with sleep topics.   Numerous members were also recognized for their accomplishments or service and the new board members were announced.

The prestigious Peter Hauri Career Distinguished Achievement Awards was presented to Dan Buysse, MD and the Art Spielman Early Career Distingquished Achievement Award went to Sara Nowakowski, PhD.  Certificates were also presented to 19 recent graduates of accredited BSM training programs.   Members whose terms of service are being completed in September were also presented certificates and included board members: Jason Ong, (past-president), Michael Grandner, Sara Nowakowski, Celso Teixeira and Katrina Speed (student member).  Committee members recognized for their service included: Sheila Garland, Kristi Prukisma, Justin Thomas, Haley Byers, Yelena Chernyak, Eric Zhou, Leisha Cuddihy, Melissa Milanak, Allison Wilkerson, Miriam Rubin, Jaclyn Lewis-Croswell, Don Townsend, Kelly Byars, Janice Biddle, Valerie Crabtree, Christina McCrae and Kenny Lichstein.

Results of the 2019 board elections were also announced.  Christina McCrae is the new president-elect.  New directors at large include Justin Thomas, Suzie Bertisch, Michael Nadorff and Jade Wu (student representative).  Their terms will begin in September at our Scientific Meeting.

The reception is just a token of appreciation for our members.  On behalf of the board, I want to thank all of our members for their support and especially those who have offered their talents and service to the SBSM.  As a new and growing organization, we could not have accomplished so much in such a short time without the help of so many talented individuals and we encourage everyone to continue to support this amazing organization. 

Donna Arand, PhD
SBSM President